City Slang: Detroit artists on Substream compilation



A new compilation album from Substream Records features three tracks by Detroit artists. A statement from the label said, “This, the second volume of the 'Substream Likes' series, lets you discover 18 exciting new artists. On the track list we find everything from upbeat Kenyan electro-pop, melancholic Swedish indie and our two new Substream artists: Lettercamp and Hakan Ludvigson.”

Local electro-pop band Lettercamp contribute “I Know” to the CD, while Illy Mack are on there with “Squirrels” and Deastro pops in with “Spritle”.

Bands from elsewhere that are on the CD include the Texas Microphone Massacre, Analog Monks, and Gosh!

For more information, click here.


We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Detroit Metro Times works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Detroit and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Detroit's true free press free.