City Slang: Verve Pipe doing it for the kids



’90s chart-rockers the Verve Pipe have gone family friendly in a big way.

Not only has the band put out a record called A Family Album, a collection of songs for kids, but the band is performing a family show at the Ark in Ann Arbor on January 21 from 11 a.m.

According to the band’s website, “After being approached to submit a song for a compilation album called "Calling All Kids," the band found that the creative sessions yielded far more than just the one track. This led to an idea of a complete album of family friendly songs, and the CD was born. Also note, the groundwork of these same sessions has also set in motion a new rock CD to follow the family album as well. Stay tuned for lots of new material from The Verve Pipe!”

The track listing for the kids album is:
1. Wake Up
2. We Had to Go Home
3. Complimentary Love
4. Be a Part of the Band
5. When One Became Two
6. Cereal
7. Only One of You
8. Suppertime!
9. Worrisome One
10. Go To Sleep Now

Click here to join the City Slang Turntable community!!!


We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Detroit Metro Times works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Detroit and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Detroit's true free press free.