News & Views » Local News

Metro Times journalists honored

Three Metro Times staff members have received top honors from the Detroit chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Jack Lessenberry, whose "Politics & Prejudices" column appears weekly in Metro Times, was named Journalist of the Year for 2001.

Staff writer Lisa M. Collins was named SPJ's Young Journalist of the Year.

Staff writer Ann Mullen also garnered three awards, two for feature writing and one for general reporting.

Three of Ann's stories won awards:
The matchmaker
Two troubled journeys & a moment of truth
The big stink

The citations were announced last week at the SPJ's annual banquet.

Meanwhile, in a separate competition, Metro Times arts editor George Tysh was named runner-up in the arts feature writing category by the Association for Alternative Newsweeklies. Winners in that competition, which is national in scope, were announced at AAN's recent annual convention.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Detroit Metro Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Metro Times Press Club for as little as $5 a month.