Arts & Culture » Books

Something’s fishy

comment

Want to take a long look into the inner workings of cult filmmaker David Lynch's mind? Are you sure? It's not that it'd be too freaky for you — just the opposite, perhaps. Fans of Eraserhead, Blue Velvet and Twin Peaks will certainly recognize their boy in Lynch's book Catching the Big Fish the filmmaker's meditative reflections on his creative process. And it's always fun for creative types to compare and contrast their thought processes with those of other artists, especially one as singular as Lynch. The book can be frustrating, though. Chalk it up to the transcendental meditation he mentions often in this Jack Handy-meets-the Log Lady collection of observations and ruminations, or to the admitted fact that he's better with film than with words, but the writing here is so laid-back, simultaneously plainspoken and vague, that the answer to "what makes Lynch tick?" remains mysterious. But that's probably as it should be. — Sean Bieri

Tags

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Detroit Metro Times. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Detroit Metro Times, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at letters@metrotimes.com.

Detroit Metro Times works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Detroit and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Detroit's true free press free.