Performance

"The Holler Sessions" at Detroit Public Theatre

When: Wed., Feb. 1, 8-10 p.m., Thu., Feb. 2, 8-10 p.m., Fri., Feb. 3, 6-8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 4, 8-10 p.m., Sun., Feb. 5, 2-4 p.m., Fri., Feb. 10, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Feb. 11, 8-10 p.m., Sun., Feb. 12, 2-4 & 7-9 p.m., Wed., Feb. 15, 2-4 p.m., Thu., Feb. 16, 8-10 p.m., Fri., Feb. 17, 6-8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 18, 8-10 p.m., Sun., Feb. 19, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Feb. 23, 8-10 p.m., Fri., Feb. 24, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Feb. 25, 8-10 p.m. and Sun., Feb. 26, 2-4 & 7-9 p.m. 2017

The Holler Sessions, staged as a live radio show, centers around one man’s burning obsession for American jazz. Ray, a jazz DJ, broadcasts his love of this uniquely American art form from his shoddy studio with an infectious passion. Ray’s maniacal rants, razor-sharp insights, and mildly scatological humor are interspersed with truly spectacular music and Ray gives his audience true space room for listening. The Holler Sessions serves as an electrifying jazz primer for the uninitiated, a powerful reminder for jazz fans, and an irreverent love letter to the best thing America has ever created – and forgotten.

Price: $20-$45

Tags