Michigan State Police will be issuing $65 tickets on Tuesday, Feb. 13 to drivers in Dearborn without seat belts on.
MSP tweeted that their Special Enforcement Section will be out enforcing this law specifically along Michigan Avenue in Dearborn.
Michigan state law requires all children under the age of 8 or shorter than 4 feet 9 inches tall to be buckled in a car seat or booster. Passengers older than 8 are required to be belted in all seating positions.
An easy way to steer clear of an unnecessary ticket and to ensure your safety is to have your seat belt on at all times.
Malak Silmi is an editorial intern at
Metro Times and is a journalism major at Wayne State University.